Work flow — Page 4 — Work flow — Page 4 — Genohistory.com Forum — GENOHISTORY.COM

Scroll down to see the Zotero Forum.

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Work flow

PreviousPage 4 of 7Next

Step Five:

Next, I add Tags. I use RIN’s for Tags. Side Note: I use FTM which allows me to add a prefix or suffix to the RIN’s. Since I use two databases, I use the title of the database as the prefix to the RIN. About once a month I generate a list of RINs and the corresponding name from my genealogy software and add it to Zotero. One for each side. I call them SchindlerSide Index and GilchrestSide Index.

I will often use the Zutilo add on to quickly copy and paste tags to multiple entries or relate several entries to each other.

Uploaded files:
  • You need to login to have access to uploads.

Step 6: 

Lastly, I dragged a copy of the entry to the Rose Baer sub-collection in the Questions Collection.

Uploaded files:

Thank you, Ann.

While I'm very new to Zotero, what you do seems reasonably straight-forward.

I'm currently working on a research project while waiting for an answer to which format of the Zotero book is the latest. Once I get that answer and the book, I'm hoping to set up what you've described.

It appears that you try to store data locally, which is good for me. I try to avoid recurring fees when possible.

You also note that you do things a bit differently for pre-existing data. How does that change what you do? I have a lot of data to port to this new workflow.

Hi History Hunter,

About the same time, I started using Zotero I also started a family archive. There was a lot to think about. What do I want to keep physically? What can be kept digitally? How can I use Zotero as a finding aid for all my stuff?

When I first set up Zotero I mimicked my hard drive files. As you can image it made for a LOT of collections. It soon became apparent that I did not need to mimic my hard drive.