External attachments from cloud storage — External attachments from cloud storage — Genohistory.com Forum — GENOHISTORY.COM

Scroll down to see the Zotero Forum.

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

External attachments from cloud storage

Page 1 of 2Next

Hi. I'm new to Zotero. I've spent the past few days reading through the book, and today I installed Zotero and am playing around with it. I have questions....

First, on page 50, it mentions cloud storage options for external attachments, and that this allows the attachments to be reviewed remotely. I'm having problems with understanding how this works.

I set up a base directory following the directions on page 52, to a folder on my hard drive that is in my iCloud folder (I'm on a Mac). Everything works great on the laptop, but I'm not able to open files from the web browser or my iPad. Is there something I should be doing that I missed?

Thanks for the help!

Donna, please correct me if I am wrong.  I believe you need to download the actual Zotero application to each device to view the documents on your cloud storage. And then set the base directory on each installation.

Hi, illinimom. I don't have an iPad so can't test it. I will roll the question to the main forum. But tell me what you see. Do you click with no response? If you right-click, does it do anything? Or holding the cursor down on the attachment link? I'll see what I can find out. Thanks!

Donna

illinimom, here is a paper someone has written about using an iPad and Zotero, in case it's of help. 

https://appademic.tech/referencing-on-ipad-zotero/

I suspect there are a number of limitations in using the Zotero app on an iPad. Do let us know how it goes....

Quote from Donna Cox Baker on April 9, 2019, 10:40 pm