Birth Certificate (or death or marriage) — Birth Certificate (or death or marriage) — Genohistory.com Forum — GENOHISTORY.COM

Scroll down to see the Zotero Forum.

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Birth Certificate (or death or marriage)

Page 1 of 4Next

I was just wondering what everyone else is using for citation of certificates.  When I did a Diploma course through a local university they gave us a referencing guide based on Chicago "notes and bibliography" style.  So for a certificate we were told to do:

Birth Certificate of Myrtle Lovelock, born 18 July 1888, Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages, New South Wales, 2805/1888.

I've played around in Zotero using book section, encylopedia, document trying to mimic what we were told to do.  The best I've come up with is the following:

‘Birth Certificate of Dorcas Stokes, Born 19 November 1898’. General Register Office, Southport, England, UK, 1898. 375/1898. Willenhall, Wolverhampton, Staffordshire.

If I remove the date field to remove the 1898 after UK I end up with n.d.  If I put 375/1898 in the date field I end up with 1898-375A.D.  I just think it looks messy with 1898. 375/1898.

The attachment shows how I have the fields in Zotero.  Any other suggestions?

Thank you in anticipation of helping me with my need for perfection :/

Uploaded files:
  • You need to login to have access to uploads.

Great question, Megan. I have posted the question at Zotero, to see if there is a way to override the "n.d." While it's usually helpful and appropriate in CMOS style to insert the "n.d." when a record has no date, it doesn't take into account that the record actually IS dated in this case, but you've already said it. I'll see what comes back.