What doesn’t use the free unlimited Zotero storage? — What doesn’t use the free unlimited Zotero storage? — Genohistory.com Forum — GENOHISTORY.COM

Scroll down to see the Zotero Forum.

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

What doesn’t use the free unlimited Zotero storage?

I read over the terms for using Zotero to store information. Am I correct that notes and tags are items which don’t count against the free Zotero storage? If I don’t use snapshots and file attachments, will I then be unlikely to run out of storage to sync?

I am so sorry I only just now saw your question. Zotero tells me that only attachments use up your storage. I think it treats the snapshots from the web as attachments, but I am not sure. I can say that I have been using Zotero for more than 10 years and have not yet needed to buy cloud space from them, because I use links to attachments on my computer, rather than embedding them in my Zotero data. 

Quote from Donna Cox Baker on December 12, 2020, 3:12 pm

I use links to attachments on my computer, rather than embedding them in my Zotero data.

So how do you backup the would-be attachments? Do you use a cloud service or, whatever? Just curious because as soon as I used their cloud service, I was full. I have a bazillion entries and going through and removing attachments is too tedious a project to even consider. What do you think of when you back up your files, that you back-up Zotero?

Hi, MagnoliaSouth. I store all of my Zotero attachments on Dropbox, where I have a 2TB account. It keeps several versions back--and that's what you won't get with Zotero's storage. Zotero's storage is intended to sync for remote or multiple-account access. It's not intended for the protection of data. It keeps one copy.

I use a free product called AOMEI to back up the Zotero database--also backing it up on a regular basis to Dropbox. So far, I've never needed it, thankfully.